After teasing fans with a series of 55 second long clips, The XX have now shared their first track in over three years ‘On Hold’. The long-awaited comeback of the London trio is finally upon us.

The XX revealed details of their third studio album yesterday morning, an album that has been two and a half years in the making. The album is titled ‘I See You’ and is set to be released on the 13th of January 2017.

In a message posted on Facebook, the band announced the album with a message that reads “We realise these are uncertain times and we hope the joy and love we found making the record will find its way out into the world, in however small a way”.


‘I See You’ was recorded between March 2014 and August 2016 in New York, Marfa Texas, Reykjavik, Los Angeles and London.


The band have also shared the track listing, and another single or two can be expected before the album is officially released next year.

  1. Dangerous
  2. Say Something Loving
  3. Lips
  4. A Violent Noise
  5. Performance
  6. Replica
  7. Brave For you
  8. On Hold
  9. I Dare You
  10. Test Me

Check out the song on Youtube:

The track is a perfect nod to previous releases by the trio, with a new refreshing twist added by the production of Jamie xx, his electronic upbeat style shines through in particular on this track. We see pristine vocal delivery from both Romy Croft and Oliver Sim. ‘On Hold’ could have been taken straight from a movie like ‘Palo Alto’  with it’s dreamy essence and the usual XX romantic flare that we know and love.

You can pre-order “I See You” as a download:



Leave a reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s