Fleet Foxes finally return, announcing new album and share a stunning new track

The wait is finally over. After 6 years of waiting, Seattle indie-folk band Fleet Foxes are back and it was well worth the wait. After lead singer Robin Pecknold announced he would return to Columbia University after the band finished touring their second record ‘Helplessness Blues’, we all knew we’d have to wait a very long time for new material. But 6 years? Well it was well worth the wait as the band have released a brand spanking new, near 9  minute long track which fails to disappoint.

The band also announced that their new album ‘Crack Up’ will be released on June 16th of this year via  Nonesuch. The album features 11 tracks which have all been written by Pecknold, who also produced the album alongside fellow band member Skyler Skjelset. See track listings and album artwork below.

“Third of May / Ōdaigahara,” is the first taster of new music from the band. Its eccentric, beautiful and melodic, everything that you would hope for from a Fleet Foxes track. The 3rd of May is a very important date in the history of the band, a date which saw their second album being released, and the birthday of guitarist Skyler Skjelset, who plays a huge roll on this goliath track.

The track is overflowing with the qualities that we all know and love from Fleet Foxes. That stunning folk sound, the passionate and melodic vocals from Pecknold and superb crescendos. The song begins as a typical Fleet Foxes song, then it evolves into a mesmerising acoustic instrumental. Melodic beats, strings and pianos seep through this track, and with the introduction of soft synths which appear towards the end of this track, we begin to see that Fleet Foxes are experimenting with their sound. Its clear to see that Radiohead’s Kid A has taken a somewhat influence on this song and quite possibly the album. In a Q&A on Instagram earlier last year, Pecknold stated the album would have a KID A feel to it, and that their new album would be “the “Kid A” for Fleet Foxes”. This track is one of the most stunning pieces of work that the band have released.  Its a beautiful culmination of everything that they have learned in the six years they’ve been away, and I personally cant wait to hear more from the band.

The artwork for the album is just a thing of pure beauty. One of the most stunning pieces of artwork I have  seen in a very long time. See for yourself below.

The band will be embarking on a European tour of festivals over the summer, with no confirmed UK gig dates as of yet, apart from their huge headline slot at this years Latitude Festival. The band are also touring the United States this year, with support coming from Animal Collective and Beach House. What a lineup that is. You can buy tickets for Latitude Festival here: 

You can pre-order Crack-Up here and receive the vinyl edition of the album, and a exclusive print!

Tracklisting For Crack-Up:

1. I Am All That I Need / Arroyo Seco / Thumbprint Scar
2. Cassius, –
3. – Naiads, Cassadies
4. Kept Woman
5. Third of May / Ōdaigahara
6. If You Need To, Keep Time on Me
7. Mearcstapa
8. On Another Ocean (January / June)
9. Fool’s Errand
10. I Should See Memphis
11. Crack-Up

Featured image courtesy of Music Feeds


Leave a Reply