Slowdive Announce New Album, and Unveil Absolutely Mesmerising Track ‘Sugar for the Pill’

Reading shoegazers Slowdive have today finally announced their glorious return with a new album which is set to be released on May 5th 2017. The album is self titled, and will be released under one of the best record labels around, Dead Oceans .

The band unveiled the stunning artwork for the album, alongside a special London date at The Garage, with tickets currently on sale.

Slowdive have already released one single this year, with the stunning and loud ‘Star Roving’ being released on January 12th. The single was their first new music for 22 years, and today, the band unveiled a equally mesmerising second single ‘Sugar for the Pill’.

‘Sugar for the Pill’ is a dreamy offering from the band. Its mellow and features some beautiful guitars and vocals throughout the track. Take a listen below whilst watching a pretty stunning music video to go alongside the song.

The return of Slowdive is a glorious and magnificent thing. They are still able to dish out some of the finest shoe gaze tracks, and both of their latest singles prove that to great extent. Their new album is shaping up to most defiantly be a highlight of 2017, if not THE highlight.

Slowdive (self titled) track listing:

  1. Slomo
  2. Star Roving
  3. Don’t Know Why
  4. Sugar For The Pill
  5. Everyone Knows
  6. No Longer Making Time
  7. Go Get It
  8. Falling Ashes

You can pre order the album here:

Slowdive have announced a handful of UK dates which are taking place this week (all of which have sold out), as well as a special date in Oxford before their appearance at Field Day…

2 June 2017 – O2 Academy Oxford, UK

3 June 2017 – Field Day, London, UK

31 Aug – 3 Sept 2017 – End of the Road Festival, UK

Featured image courtesy of tiny mix tapes

Leave a Reply