King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard Portray the Murder Of The Universe

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard are a band who really don’t know how to stop producing electrifying and intense music. Since the start of year, the band have released ‘Flying Microtonal Banana’, an experimental album delving into the world of microtonal tuning, and now the band have released the third chapter of their upcoming album ‘Murder Of The Universe’.

This chapter gives us hints that the new album will steer away from their quest into microtonal tuning, and focusing on telling some enthralling and energetic tales. The album will be split into three parts. Part 1 being called, ‘The Tale of The Altered Beast’, which sees songs do battle against each other. The second Chapter seems to be the most exciting and intriguing thing the band are doing. The Lord Of Lighting VS Balrog has me trembling in excitment and wonder in what the second chapter will hold.

The third and final chapter Han-Tyumi And The Murder Of The Universe’ has the band telling the story of a cyborg named Han-Tyumi, who tells of his wish to be able to die a noble death, and to have the ability to vomit… yes thats really what he wants. The third chapter tells of the unfortunate tale of how Han-Tyumi finally has the ability to regergitate and how he ends up murdering the universe. The band have created some masterful tracks in this chapter however. The 13 minute long segment features ‘Digital Black’, and ‘Vomit Coffin’, with both tracks featuring expertly craftedriffs and beats. The music doesn’t stop there, with a brilliant psych instrumental which floats through the third track underneath a “touching” narrational from our cyborg friend as he talks about how he wants to feel the “hot putrid nuggets” and “to die in the arms of an alien”.

‘Vomit Coffin’ talks of how Han-Tyumi creates his ‘Soy-Protein Munt Machine’ to be able to vomit, where things go catastrophically wrong in a pretty disturbing fashion. “junkie shrapnel tears through everything around me”. Its a fascinating listen, and truly is some of the weirdest, and bat shit crazy stuff you’re ever likely to hear. Yet, at the same time, King Gizzard know how to tell stories within their music. Their experimentation and dedication, combine with a truly unique sound. Making the band one of the best bands around, and most defiantly one of the best psych bands around.

‘Murder Of The Universe’ Track listing:

Chapter 1: The Tale Of The Altered Beast

01 A New World
02 Altered Beast I
03 Alter Me I
04 Altered Beast II
05 Alter Me II
06 Altered Beast III
07 Alter Me III
08 Altered Beast IV
09 Life / Death

Chapter 2: The Lord Of Lightning Vs. Balrog

01 Some Context
02 The Reticent Raconteur
03 The Lord Of Lightning
04 The Balrog
05 The Floating Fire
06 The Acrid Corpse

Chapter 3: Han-Tyumi And The Murder Of The Universe

01 Welcome To An Altered Future
02 Digital Black
03 Han-Tyumi, The Confused Cyborg
04 Soy-Protein Munt Machine
05 Vomit Coffin
06 Murder Of The Universe

Pre-order Murder Of The Universe here: 

Featured image courtesy of Pitchfork 

Leave a Reply