The ‘Hard Times’ are finally over as Paramore bounce back with their first new music in four years!

Paramore exploded back on the scene today, with their first new material in four years, Hard Times. The new single comes alongside the announcement of their fifth studio album, entitled After Laughter, which is set for release on May 12 (the same day as Harry Styles’ debut!) through Fueled By Ramen and also marks the return of Zac Farro who quit the band all the way back in 2010.

The (now) trio are back and sounding more upbeat than ever, in perfect time for the summer.

Hard Times comes as a breath of fresh air for the band, one that is rather reminiscent of 80s pop, with it’s tribal percussion and shimmering guitar work.  The video follows the same path, with it’s hand drawn, cartoon graphics that bring to mind those early 2000s MTV animations. The track sees the ever so bubbly Hayley Williams  grooving alongside the synth-pop track, exclaiming “Hard times, gonna wonder why you even try, hard times, gonna take you down and laugh while you cry” on perhaps the catchiest chorus Paramore have ever produced. The band never fail to release bangers, that’s for sure.

The track listing for After Laughter is as follows:

01. Hard Times

02. Rose Coloured Boy

03. Told You So

04. Forgiveness

05. Fake Happy

06. 26

07. Pool

08. Grudges

09. Caught In The Middle

10. Idle Worship

11. No Friend

12. Tell Me How

Luckily for us Brits, the band have a UK tour planned, that will grace several rather small venues throughout June. Tickets will be on sale from Friday the 28th of April.


15 / Olympia, Dublin

16 / Waterfront, Belfast

18 / O2 Apollo, Manchester

19 / Royal Albert Hall, London 

21 / Colston Hall, Bristol 

22 / Usher Hall, Edinburgh

Words by Ben Davies


Leave a Reply