The Wrexham punk-poppers have been away for a while now working on the predecessor of their 2015 infectiously melodic second record Life’s Not Out To Get You, and last night came the announcement of their new album alongside two brand new tracks.  Neck Deep’s hotly-anticipated new album, The Peace And The Panic, is set to be released on the 18th of August via Hopeless Records. Preorder bundles are up now here.

(image by Ashley Osborn)

The band dropped not one, but TWO tracks on Daniel P Carter’s Radio 1 Rock Show last night, check the two tracks and their official videos out now!

Both tracks are splattered with impeccable instrumentation, drawing comparisons to early material of pop punk giants Blink-182 and Green Day. “Stop the world i’m getting off” rings the chorus of Happy Judgement Day, as Ben Barlow consistently makes stabs at the system, “is it just me or does anyone else feel like this could be farewell?” he asks the listener.  The drumming from Dani seems to get better and better with each and every release whilst the guitars and bass also turn the volume up another notch.

The two tracks are definite summer anthems providing an exciting insight into what’s to come, bassist Fil Thorpe stated on Instagram Live last night that his favourite track on the album is one that is yet to be released.  My appetite has been particularly wet by the tracklisiting, which features a collaboration with Architects frontman Sam Carter.

Ben Barlow has voiced that the album is “not all ‘Let’s have a party and grab a beer’ this time...”

“But I wouldn’t say it’s pessimistic, just realistic. Trying to make something of your life is a big theme on this record, as is dealing with depression and anxiety. There are some political songs in there as well – we’re at a point where we’re comfortable using our voices to talk about those things.”

Here’s the tracklisting:

01. Motion Sickness
02. Happy Judgement Day
03. In Bloom
04. 19 Seventy Sumthin’
05. Parachute
06. Don’t Wait (feat. Sam Carter)
07. Heavy Lies
08. Critical Mistake
09. The Grand Delusion
10. Wish You Were Here
11. Where Do We Go When We Go

I spot a nod to Nirvana and Biggie Smalls….

The Peace And The Panic, out August 18, Hopeless Records.

Catch Neck Deep at Slam Dunk festival this coming weekend!

Words by Ben Davies

Leave a Reply