Radiohead to unveil new single ‘I Promise’ this Friday

Radiohead are set to mark the 20th anniversary of their groundbreaking, and incredible 3rd album ‘OK Computer’ with a deluxe re-issue of the album, which will be released on June 23rd to coincide with their Glastonbury headline performance. The new re-issued album will be entitled ‘OKNOTOK’ and contains the origional 12 track album, and the additions of 11 rarities including 3 new songs which are finally being unearthed.

The first of these newly released songs will be ‘I Promise’. The track itself was debuted live in 1996, however a studio version is finally being released, and this incredible track will finally see the light of day. The other two tracks that will also finally see daylight are ‘Lift’ and ‘Man Of War’, which also featured on their tour surrounding the release pf the groundbreaking album. Watch a video of ‘I Promise’ taken live here:

‘OKNOTOK’ is in a pre-order stage, with the more expansive boxset being shipped in July. The boxset will include, (according to press release) “black box emblazoned with a dark image of a burned copy of OK Computer containing three heavyweight 180-gram black 12-inch vinyl records and a hardcover book chronicling more than thirty artworks (many of which have never been seen before) and full lyrics to all the tracks. “Under this weighty tome are yet more surprises: a notebook containing 104 pages from Thom Yorke’s library of scrawled notes of the time, a sketchbook containing 48 pages of Donwood and Tchock’s ‘preparatory work’ and a C90 cassette mix tape compiled by the band, taken from OK Computer session archives and demo tapes,”.

You can pre order the boxset and other versions of the reissue on Radioheads website WASTE, here:

The band are set to celebrate the 20th anniversary of OK Computer during their upcoming tour taking place this summer. The tour begins in Oslo, Norway on June 6th and continues onwards through Europe where it will close in Tel Aviv, Israel on July 19th. The band have four dates in the UK on this tour, including their highly anticipated headline sets at Glastonbury and TRNSMT. The band will also stop off in Manchester for a couple of days, playing  two sold out shows at the Manchester Arena, which will most defiantly be emotional, and spectacular evenings. The band could be playing the entirety of OK Computer during these shows, and could also play the three newly released tracks. However, with their unpredictable setlist’s its hard to tell.

Keep your eyes peeled for posts which will cover two of these Radiohead shows, Manchester and TRNSMT.

OKNOTOK Track-listing:

Disc 1
1. “Airbag”
2. “Paranoid Android”
3. “Subterranean Homesick Alien”
4. “Exit Music (For a Film)”
5. “Let Down”
6. “Karma Police”
7. “Fitter Happier”
8. “Electioneering”
9. “Climbing Up the Walls”
10. “No Surprises”
11. “Lucky”
12. “The Tourist”

Disc 2
1. “I Promise”
2. “Man of War”
3. “Lift”
4. “Lull”
5. “Meeting in the Aisle”
6. “Melatonin”
7. “A Reminder”
8. “Polyethylene (Parts 1 & 2)”
9. “Pearly*”
10. “Palo Alto”
11. “How I Made My Millions”

Leave a Reply