King Krule battles isolation and loneliness on heavy new single, ‘Half Man Half Shark’

Ahead of the release of his anticipated sophomore album, ‘The Ooz’ next Friday, Archy Marshall, better known as cult Peckham singer-songwriter King Krule has shared yet another new song from his forthcoming LP. Comeback single ‘Czech One’ was an almost feverish cut of prickly, futuristic jazz-noir rhythms and Marshall’s poetic slur. Recent single ‘Dum Surfer’, is doomy, violent even; a gravel-gargling escapade into the weirdest recesses of the mind, it’s amongst Krule’s darkest, and best material to date.

(Image courtesy of Alexandra Waespi for Pitchfork)

The 23 year old’s latest track, ‘Half Man Half Shark’ is a monstrous hybrid of the two. A homage to a similarly-titled song once written by the singer’s Father – who sings backing vocals during the song’s nightmarish intro segment – the track is messy, urgent, heavy even, Marshall’s half sung, half yelled vocal drawl tussling against scratchy guitars and tightly wound basslines. Krule’s vocals later spill over during the song’s funk-filled bass breakdown, becoming a picture of paranoia and loneliness, as he sings “I’ll forever be alone/They just don’t care”.

The release is accompanied by a new visual, featuring VHS footage of the singer taken from his recent surprise shows in LA, New York and London, and a series of short animated clips produced by Theo Chin. Watch the new video in the player below.

Speaking about his latest album in a recent Pitchfork interview, Marshall comments “It’s all about the gunk”. He goes on – “It’s all about the shit you do subconsciously, like the snot, the earwax, your spit, your jizz, your piss, your shit…my brain’s creating all this gunk, this forcefield. And i guess that kind of saved the whole thing.” ‘The Ooz’ is due for release 13 October via XL Recordings and True Panther Sounds. Check out the utterly whopping tracklisting below. ‘Half Man Half Shark’ is now available to stream and purchase on all good platforms. For a full list of US & European/UK tour dates, visit King Krule’s website here

‘The Ooz’ tracklisting

01. Biscuit Town
02. The Locomotive 
03. Dum Surfer
04. Slush Puppy
05. Bermondsey Bosom (Left)
06. Logos 
07. Sublunary
08. Lonely Blue
09. Cadet Limbo
10. Emergency Blimp
11. Czech One
12. A Slide In (New Drugs)
13. Vidual
14. Bermondsey Bosom (Right)
15. Half Man Half Shark
16. The Cadet Leaps
17. The Ooz
18. Midnight 01 (Deep Sea Diver)
19. La Lune

Words by Joe Bulger

Featured image courtesy of Dork Magazine


Leave a Reply