Cardiff Music Awards 2018 Preview

Cardiff Music Awards 2018 is just around the corner and we are excited for it. This year’s nominees list is filled with incredible names in categories from best band to best promoter and best music website in which we are a nominee. The awards show for 2018 will be taking place on Thursday 29th March at Tramshed in Cardiff. Tickets for the event cost £15 and will feature performances from local bands such as:

  • Afro Cluster
  • HMS Morris
  • Rainbow Maniac
  • & GRLTLK (DJ set)

The event will begin at 6pm and finish late in the night. Tickets for the night are available here.

The Cardiff Music Awards is a project designed to promote, recognise and celebrate music in the Welsh capital. Its aim is to reinforce how healthy the scene is by getting hundreds, if not thousands, of people involved in one major honour roll for Cardiff music.

Launching in 2015, the first Cardiff Music Awards was a grassroots project with no funding that brought together multiple creators and promoters of music to be awarded their inaugural titles.

Now for its second year, the project will expand its horizons with more categories, a better nomination process and an awards ceremony that aims to be a significant event in the local music calendar.

2018 list is filled with the best names within Cardiff’s music scene. Here is a list of all the categories and each nominee with the links to the voting pages. Remember to vote for us under the Best Music Website it will be a massive honour for us. We expect a lot of fun, good music and Cardiff to be on the music map.

Below the list of nominees we have a playlist with the acts listed. Have a listen of the talent in South Wales.

Best Group

  • Astroid Boys
  • Bayside Boogiemen
  • Boy Azooga
  • Junior Bill

Best Breakthrough Act

  • CVC
  • Holding Absence
  • Perfect Body
  • The Pitchforks
  • Sock

Vote Now

Best EP / Single

  • Boy Azooga – Face Behind Her Cigarette
  • My Name Is Ian – Fight, Drink And Watch People Die On TV
  • The Pitchforks – Afflictions
  • Rainbow Maniac – RMEP1
  • Saykridd Daly – Into The Fire

Vote Now

Best Independent Venue

  • Acapela
  • Clwb Ifor Bach
  • Fuel
  • Gwdihŵ
  • The Moon

Vote Now

Line Up of the Year

  • Estrons, Chroma, Palomino Party – Clwb Ifor Bach – 9th December 2017 (Sŵn)
  • Hub Festival
  • Pride
  • Sŵn Discovery Day
  • Wales Goes Pop! 2017

Vote Now

Best Music Website

  • Buzz Magazine
  • God Is In The TV Zine
  • Let It Happen
  • Minty’s Gig Guide
  • Roath Rocks

Vote Now

Best Solo Act

  • Tom Auton
  • The Gentle Good
  • Rebecca Hurn
  • Rufus Mufasa
  • Lucas J Rowe

Vote Now

Best Live Act

  • Astroid Boys
  • Boy Azooga
  • Johnny Cage & The Voodoogroove
  • Junior Bill

Vote Now

Best Producer

  • Romesh Dodangoda
  • Charlie Francis
  • High Contrast
  • Lee House
  • Timothy Vincent

Vote Now

Best Commercial Venue

  • The Globe
  • Live Lounge
  • Motorpoint Arena
  • Tramshed
  • Wales Millennium Centre

Vote Now

Best Festival

  • Eradication Festival
  • The Future Is Female
  • Hub Festival
  • Sŵn Festival
  • Tafwyl

Vote Now

Best Local Promoter

  • Liz Hunt (The Moon)
  • Nathan Jones (Disco Motel)
  • Lottie Summer Wallond (Rare Events)
  • Gavin Patrick Williams (Pi & Hash)
  • Dean Whittaker (Imperial Music)

Vote Now

Best Radio Show

  • Bethan Elfyn (BBC Radio Wales)
  • Showcase Wales (GTfm)
  • Minty’s Gig Guide (Podcast)
  • The Rapture (VCS Radio Cardiff)
  • Unique Lullaby (VCS Radio Cardiff/Podcast)

Vote Now

Best DJs

  • DJ Gavin Wilson (Opal Fruits)
  • F-Block
  • DJ Jaffa
  • DJ Veto

Vote Now

Best Album

  • Astroid Boys – Broke
  • Cotton Wolf – Life In Analogue
  • Edison Junction – Kairos Time
  • Rufus Mufasa – Fur Coats From The Lion’s Den
  • Roman Yasin – Adolescence

Vote Now

Best Music Video

  • Boy Azooga – Face Behind Her Cigarette (On Par)
  • CHROMA – Vampires (Digichemistry)
  • Junior Bill – Above Your Station (Joe Marvelly)
  • Lucas J Rowe – Grind Like Me ft. J Dotty (SpitifireTV)
  • We’re No Heroes – Youth (Thomas Rees)

Vote Now

Promoter of the Year

  • Fuelled By Jealous Lovers
  • Liz Hunt (The Moon)
  • Orchard Entertainment
  • Sŵn
  • Dean Whittaker (Imperial Music)

Vote Now

Best Regional Promoter

  • Fuelled By Jealous Lovers
  • MJR Group
  • Orchard Entertainment
  • Sŵn
  • Young Promoters Network

Vote Now

Best Club Night

  • Blue Honey
  • Bump & Grind
  • Dirty Pop
  • Disco Motel
  • Seventy Times 7

Vote Now

Leave a Reply